A letter to all hopeless romantics,

Aesha Patel
1 min readMar 12, 2022

--

To all the hopeless romantics,

I relate to you, because I am one among you. I have been through a phase in my life wherein I met a person who said that he misses me, he wants to meet me and all of that jaaz. He said all of this repeatedly. He made me feel special.

Whenever he used to tell me that he misses me or he wants to meet me, I used to built narratives in my mind, wherein he would take me for lunch, serenade me with poetry and what not. I was building a world for both of us. A utopia of sorts.

All of this went on for weeks. I started thinking that he is into me, he also has fallen for me. So, one day I decided to confess my feelings to him. Turns out he didn't. That day was one of the worst days of my life. The words “I don’t feel the same for you” ripped my heart apart. My world had come to a standstill and eventually had started crumbling down. That day I had crushed my rose-tinted glasses.

(To be continued)

--

--