Sirf ek guftagoo-3

Aesha Patel
5 min readOct 28, 2021

--

Alisha: Yaar, kaisa hai? Sab thik thak?

Meer: Ha sab thik hai. Tu bata.

Alisha: Yaar mai kya hi bataun? Pata hai when people ask questions like these (How are you? types) I wonder do they actually want to know how I am feeling? or they are just asking such questions for formality, and even if they genuinely want to know, will they listen to my rant? Bahot saare sawaal hai, par jawaab shayad ek bhi nai. So instead of pouring my heart out infront of them I just say I am fine or I am doing good. Jo jhooth hai. Logon ke life mai bhi problems hote hai, bas woh batate nahi, aur unko overburden karna apne problems se, sounds selfish right?

So, jo bhi tumhein bolna tha, woh bolne ke badle, I just say I am fine. Kissa khatam. Right?

Absolutely not. Har kisiko ko ek shaks chahiye jisse woh bina kisi jhijhak ke sab bata sake. At least I do. Aur jab tak nahi milta tab tak, I am fine ya I am doing good se kaam chalao. Ya phir apne kissi kareebi dost ko batao. I do that a lot.

Meer: Yaar dekh rant karne se problems ka solution nahi nikalega. Ha, agar tumhara accha dost hai to woh tumhein advice dega. But, see agar tumhein lagta hai ke I am fine or I am doing good se kaam chalana padta hai, to thik hai yaar chala lo.

Alisha, har baar zaroori nahi kisise baat karna, apne problems discuss karna zaroori nahi. Spend time with yourself. Khudke dost bano. And kisi aur insaan pe itna bojh dalna galat hoga. Learn to love yourself first. Enjoy your own company. Befriend yourself first. Aadhe se zyada problems udhar hi khatam ho jayegi.

Alisha: Kya baat hai!, Dr. Meer. But, sometimes you feel better when you pour your heart out in front of someone, don’t you? You feel relieved, don’t you? Ya, overburdening someone , is not good, but when you have someone by your side with whom you can discuss all your problems, you feel good, you feel relieved.

Meer: Yaar it’s very simple. Apne khushiyon ki chaabi kisike haath mai mat do. Apne paas hi rakho. I know that people do need someone to share their problems with, but iss umeed mai bethe rehna galat hoga.

Zamane mai sahara dhoondhne se behetar hai,

Khudka sahara banna,

Kisi aur ko apni khushiyon ki chaabi dene se behetar hai,

Uss chaabi ko apne paas rakhna.

Alisha: Mashallah! Bahot khoob! Kya baat hai, Janaab. Aap to shayari karne lage. Tum to Meer khan se siddha Mir Taqi Mir ban gaye. Chalo koi nai. Saath mai bethke likhenge shayari. Manzoor?

(Mir Taqi Mir was one of the most renowned Urdu poets of 18th Century. He was considered to be one of the pioneers of Urdu language).

Meer: Ayee. Kaha Mir Taqi Mir, aur kahan mai. Mai to unki charno ke dhool saman hoon. Aur rahi baat shayari likhneki, usse to mai sangat ka asar kahunga. Tumhare saath waqt guzarte guzarte hum bhi thoda shayari karne lage.

Alisha: Ab hum kya hi bole?

Meer: Kuch mat bolo. Mai samaj gaya. Tumhari muskurahat aur tumhari aankhon ne sab bayaan kar dia. Waise, tumhari aankhen bahot khubsoorat hai. Bahot kisse aur kahaniyan chuppi inke picche. Aur dard bhi. Woh kehte hai na dard dard ko dhoondh leta hai. Bilkul sahi bethata hai hamare case mai. Ek doosre ke khushi mai shareek ho woh dost agar ek doosre ke gam mai bhi shareek ho tabhi sacche dost kehlate hai. Prosperity makes friends and adversity tries them.

Alisha: I don’t have any words. Tum kamal ho yaar. I am spellbound. Kya baat hai yaar. Dil jeet lia! Tum bahot acche conversationalist ho yaar. yaar tum kamal ho.

Meer: Haaye, itni tareef! Well aaj lagta hai tareefon ki ladi lagne waali hai. Accha tareef se yaad aaya, you were working on something, right? khatam hua kya?

Alisha: Nai yaar, I have stopped working on it. Diwali mai soch rahi wapis shuru karu. Puri kahani to ban gai hai, but there are certain things that i have to keep in mind while weaving a structured story around it. Bas wahi karne mai time jayega. I have couple of other ideas as well. Let’s see what happens.

Meer: Kya baat hai! Inshallah tumhein acche ideas aate rahe aur tum acchi kahaniyan likhti raho. Accha kahaniyon se yaad aaya, aaj ko reference ni aaya abhi tak, kya hua meri filmi dost Ko?

Alisha: Kuch nai hua yaar. Maine jo last film dekhi woh mainstream nahi thi, haan dialogues kaafi impressive thay. But the line that stayed with me was, An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind. The film that I am talking about is Richard Attenborough’s Oscar winning film, Gandhi.

Meer: Kay! Well well well. What was the reason behind watching that film?

Alisha: I wanted to know more about ideologies of Mahatma Gandhi. I had read his autobiography- My experiments with the Truth when i was in school, but, now, i am too lazy too read that book, so thought of watching the movie.

Meer: Ok. Let’s steer the conversation a bit and play a game. The game is very simple, i will utter a word and you have to say the first word that comes to your mind, when you think of that word. OK? Let’s start.

Alisha: Ok, cool, let’s start.

Meer: So, the first word is Poetry.

Alisha: Ok. Poetry. The first word that comes to my mind is Amrita Pritam. What comes to your mind?

Meer: Poetry, ok, well, the first word that comes to my mind is art. Let’s go ahead with the game. Second word is love.

Alisha: Uff. Dil. The first word that comes to my mind is Dil. Now, your turn.

Meer: Well, the first word that comes to my mind is, parents. Ok. Let’s go ahead with the third word. The third word is movies.

Alisha: Well, the first word that comes to my mind is love. I love watching movies.

Meer: Well, the first word that comes to my mind is Tamasha. The film both of us love.

Alisha: Tamasha is love, indeed. On that note i would like to ask you, Mr. Meer will you watch Tamasha with me?

Meer: Offcourse I will. Ok. Done. We will be watching Tamasha this weekend.

Alisha:Yayyyy. At my place.

Meer: Done. Alisha, sun ab meko Jana padega, kal job pe jaana hai. Good night.

Alisha: Good night, Meer.

(work of fiction)

--

--